Visualizing my Experience about Amal Academy Fellowship — Obtaining Milestones, Journey to Professionalism

Abdullah Mushtaq
4 min readFeb 20, 2021

--

Resource: Google

Humans have some basic necessities in this world which rely on to learn a skill to fulfill and no human being is skilled by birth rather learn in this world from the mentors and from some moments of life with time. A person either does a job or starts his own business to fulfill necessities and the presence of professionalism and humbleness inside a person is essential to sustain the value in a professional market. So that he can make the people around him and his environment friendly rather than not make people hate him.

“Professionalism is not about adherence to the policies of a bureaucracy. Professionalism is about having the integrity, honesty, and sincerity” — Eric Lippert

A beautiful and intuitive step in my professional journey is the 3-month fellowship of Amal Academy. Actually, Amal Academy is a Stanford University-funded startup launched by a team of Acumen Fund and Stanford MBA/MA alums. The goal of the academy is to help marginalized students realize their career dreams, specifically by providing them with professional training (e.g., communication, etiquette, problem-solving, etc.) and industry linkages. Also, develop reputable corporations through training and placement services.

At the end of 2020, I have applied for the Amal Academy Fellowship to enhance and grow my communication skill and leadership development. Fortunately, I got selected (Dec 2020) through a competitive written application and interview process to be selected from over 4500 applicants for an intensive 3 months fellowship funded by Stanford University.

Resource: Google

“We must find time to stop and thank those people who make a difference in our lives.” — John F Kennedyu

Its been about 3 months (Feb 2021) to learn new things from Amal Fellowship. I am glad to have immense teachers who assist me in each step of life how to survive and grow professionally. So, here I would like to say thanks to my respected mentors Hira Athar and Zohra Hassan for instructing me as a leader during the fellowship.

I have learned a lot of new professional skills such as setting smart goals, Pomodoro technique (time management method), deep knowledge about cv, resume, cover letter, interview, and leadership skills. So, now I am gonna show a few images that will represent my growth.

A Fragrance Candle

A Fragrance Candle

“Helping one person might not change the world, but it might change the world for one person.”

This not a common candle, the amazing and wonderful fact of this candle is to spread fragrance while burning. I used this scented candle for the representation of my personality because before I came to Amal Academy I was just a simple candle, I am likening myself to a person who benefits people around my social circle with my light. In the past, I was like a simple candle to assist people when they said assist, sometimes I helped someone else, and sometimes not, I was only interested in my work. During the fellowship of Amal Academy, one of the great things I learned was that I would help my colleagues as much as possible, whether someone asked me directly for help or publicly, I will be the first to assist and that’s why I used fragrance candle to show my enthusiasm towards help colleagues as much as possible.

Black Hole Knowledge

Black Hole Knowledge

Actually, the “Black Hole” term is a scientific term (there is a lot of definition of black hole but here the definition that I used is) that means a region of spacetime where gravity is so strong. Here’s the term I have used is “Black Hole Knowledge” to personify my knowledge as a strong conceptual career knowledge.

I also used this term because I learned a lot of professional things from Amal Academy with my full attention and studied every single point in depth so that I would not have any problem in facing my career problem and with it. At the same time, my intention was that now I am capable and have the skills to deal with the problems that I have faced in my career or that I will face further. So, now I have strengthened my own career and professionalism and I will also assist the people of my social circle to the extent of their professional knowledge as much as possible and tell them the skills to tackle their career problems.

“If your knowledge does not benefit anyone other than your own self, then your knowledge is useless, such knowledge is ignorance.” — Imam Ghazali

--

--